Economics at your fingertips  

The Economics Olympics: Ranking U.S. Economics Departments Based on Prizes, Medals, and Other Awards

Frank Mixon and Kamal Upadhyaya ()

Southern Economic Journal, 2012, vol. 79, issue 1, 90-96

Abstract: This study ranks the top 25 U.S. economics departments on the basis of four prestigious awards won/held by these departments' current faculty: the Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences, the John Bates Clark Medal, the American Economic Association's (AEA's) Distinguished Fellow Award, and the American Economic Association's Richard T. Ely Lecturer. Based on our methodology, the top economics department is affiliated with the University of Chicago. This distinction stems from its affiliation with six Nobel Prize winners, four Clark Medal winners, and two participants each in the AEA Distinguished Fellow and Richard T. Ely Lecturer categories.

JEL-codes: A10 A11 A14 (search for similar items in EconPapers)
Date: 2012
References: Add references at CitEc
Citations: View citations in EconPapers (7) Track citations by RSS feed

Downloads: (external link)

Related works:
This item may be available elsewhere in EconPapers: Search for items with the same title.

Export reference: BibTeX RIS (EndNote, ProCite, RefMan) HTML/Text

Persistent link:

Access Statistics for this article

Southern Economic Journal is currently edited by Laura Razzolini

More articles in Southern Economic Journal from Southern Economic Association Contact information at EDIRC.
Bibliographic data for series maintained by Laura Razzolini (). This e-mail address is bad, please contact .

Page updated 2020-01-24
Handle: RePEc:sej:ancoec:v:79:1:y:2012:p:90-96