Economics at your fingertips  

The Oxford Handbook of the European Union

Anand Menon
Additional contact information
Anand Menon: Professor of West European Politics, University of Birmingham

in OUP Catalogue from Oxford University Press

Abstract: This is an authoritative, one-volume, and independent treatment of the history, functioning and nature of the European integration. Written by a selection of leading scholars. It covers the major institutions, policies, and events in the history of integration, whilst also providing a guide to the major theoretical approaches that have been used to study it over time. By bringing together such a distinguished cast covering such a wide array of themes, the Handbook is intended as a one stop shop for all those interested in the European Union and its predecessors. Written in an accessible style, the volume is intended to shape the discipline of EU studies, and to establish itself as the essential point of reference for all those interested in European integration, both in universities and more broadly. It represents a timely guide to an institution that is much discussed but often only imperfectly understood. Contributors to this volume - Mark A. Pollack, Jean Monnet Chair and Associate Professor in the Department of Political Science at Temple University Wayne Sandholtz, Department of Political Science, University of Californaia, Irvine Alec Stone Sweet, Leitner Professor of International Law, Politics and International Studies, Yale Law School Frank Schimmelfennig , Professor of European Politics, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Craig Parsons, Associate Professor of Political Science, University of Oregon George Pagoulatos, Visiting Professor, European General Studies, College of Europe Loukas Tsoukalis, Jean Monnet Professor of European Integration, University of Athens Berthold Rittberger, Project Director in the Department of European Political Systems and their Integration, University of Mannheim Mark Gilbert, Associate Professor in Contemporary International History, University of Trento Maria Green Cowles is Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, American University Finn Laursen, Professor and Canada Research Chair in European Union Studies, Dalhousie University, Canada Sophie Vanhoonacker, Jean Monnet Professor and Chair in Administrative Governance, University of Maastricht Alberta M. Sbragia, Professor of Political Science, University of Wisconsin-Madison Youri Devuyst, Institute for European Studies at the Vrije Universiteit Brussel Richard T. Griffiths, Professor of Social and Economic History, Leiden University Carine Germond, Department of History at Maastricht University, Maastricht University Piers Ludlow, Reader in International History, LSE Hussein Kassim, Professor of Politics Head of School, University of East Anglia Desmond Dinan, Professor of Public Policy, George Mason University Simone Bunse, Lecturer, INCAE Business School, San Jose, Costa Rica Kalypso Nicolaidis, Professor of International Relations, University of Oxford and Fellow of St Antony's College Christian Lequesne, Director of CERI, Sciences Po Waltraud Schelkle, Senior Lecturer in Political Economy, European Institute, LSE Orfeo Fioretos, Assistant Professor of Political Science, Temple University Vincent Della Sala, Adjunct Professor of European Studies, The Johns Hopkins University Jeffrey Lewis, Associate Professor, University of California, Los Angeles Susanne K. Schmidt, Professor of Political Science, University of Bremen Arndt Wonka, Project Director, Department of European Political Systems and their Integration, University of Mannheim Loic Azoulai, Professor of European Union Law, European University Institute Renaud Dehousse, Professor, Sciences Po Tapio Raunio, Professor of Political Science, University of Tampere Ian Harden, Head of European Ombudsman Legal Department R. Daniel Kelemen, Associate Professor of Political Science, Rutgers Michelle Egan, Associate Professor, American University Alasdair R Young, Honorary Senior Research Fellow, University of Glasgow Imelda Maher, Sutherland Professor In European Law, University College Dublin Kenneth Dyson, Research Professor in the School of European Studies, Cardiff University Annette Bongardt, National Institute of Administration, IP Francisco Torres, Universidad de los Andes Francis Snyder, Centennial Professor in the Law Department, LSE Dermot Hodson, Senior Lecturer in Political Economy, Birkbeck College, University of London Charlotte Burns, RCUK Academic Fellow, University of Leeds Neil Carter, University of York Hans-W. Micklitz, Director of Graduate Studies, Professor of Economic Law, European University Institute Catherine Barnard, Professor of European Union Law, University of Cambridge Simon Deakin, Assistant Director, Centre for Business Research, University of Cambridge Dieter Helm, Professor of Energy Policy at the University of Oxford Stephen Weatherill, Jacques Delors Professor of EU Law, Law Faculty and Somerville College, Oxford University Anand Menon, Professor of West European Politics, University of Birmingham Jonathon W. Moses, Department of Political Science, Norwegian Univeristy of Science and Technology Jorg Monar, Director of Studies, European Political and Administrative Studies Department, College of Europe Richard J. Aldrich, Professor of International Security at the University of Warwick David Allen, Professor of European and International Politics, Loughborough Vivien A. Schmidt, Jean Monnet Professor of European Integration and Professor of International Relations, Boston University Adrienne Heritier, Professor of Political Science, Joint Chair Department of Political and Social Science and Robert-Schuman Center for Advanced Studies, European University Institute Florence Erik Jones, Professor of European Studies, SAIS Bologna Center, The Johns Hopkins University Klaus Goetz, Chair of German and European Government and Politics, University of Potsdam Sara B. Hobolt, University Lecturer in Comparative European Politics, Department of Politics and International Relations, University of Oxford Joxerramon Bengoetxea, Profesor of Legal Theory in the University of the Basque Country, San Sebastian Carolyn Rowe, Lecturer in Politics, Aston University Armin von Bogdandy, Direootr, Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law Walter Mattli, Professor of International Political Economy, University of Oxford B. Guy Peters, Maurice Falk Professor of Government, University of Pittsburgh Eiko Thielemann, Senior Lecturer in European Politics and Policy, LSE Ulrich Sedelmeier, Senior Lecturer in the International Relations of Europe, LSE Liesbet Hooghe, Chair in EU Governance, VU Amsterdam Gary Marks, Chair in Multilevel Governance, Free University of Amsterdam

Date: 2012
ISBN: 9780199546282
References: Add references at CitEc
Citations: View citations in EconPapers (5) Track citations by RSS feed

There are no downloads for this item, see the EconPapers FAQ for hints about obtaining it.

Related works:
This item may be available elsewhere in EconPapers: Search for items with the same title.

Export reference: BibTeX RIS (EndNote, ProCite, RefMan) HTML/Text

Persistent link:

Ordering information: This item can be ordered from
http://ukcatalogue.o ... uct/

Access Statistics for this book

More books in OUP Catalogue from Oxford University Press
Bibliographic data for series maintained by Economics Book Marketing ().

Page updated 2020-09-21
Handle: RePEc:oxp:obooks:9780199546282